rosa_acicularis (
rosa_acicularis) wrote2011-02-09 01:08 am
i sing, o muse, of a hero they call fat neil.
I have loved a lot of television shows in my time, but tonight, watching last week's episode of Community - this is the first time I have ever loved a show so intensely that I think I might actually be physically ill.
This is probably because it's after midnight and I couldn't laugh nearly as loudly as this episode physically requires without waking everyone up, but SWEET JESUS, my stomach hurts and my head aches and really, I almost burst into tears at one point, so intense was my adoration for every fucking hilarious second of this show. My knowledge of Dungeons and Dragons is practically nil, but this ep perfectly captured so many things I love about Community - its optimism and insanity and its transcendent delight in the wonder and power of the human imagination. It proves week after week that friendship is one of most engaging and undervalued relationships in television, and I DON'T EVEN KNOW ANYMORE I AM JUST ECSTATIC AND FILLED WITH JOY FOR ALL THINGS.
I really need to do love!posts for all the amazing television I've seen recently - Community, The Good Wife, Parks and Recreation, Being Human (UK), Fringe - but every time I think about it I become paralyzed by pure, manic enthusiasm.
In short: If you are not watching Community, do. It will make you so happy you will throw up a little in your mouth.
This is probably because it's after midnight and I couldn't laugh nearly as loudly as this episode physically requires without waking everyone up, but SWEET JESUS, my stomach hurts and my head aches and really, I almost burst into tears at one point, so intense was my adoration for every fucking hilarious second of this show. My knowledge of Dungeons and Dragons is practically nil, but this ep perfectly captured so many things I love about Community - its optimism and insanity and its transcendent delight in the wonder and power of the human imagination. It proves week after week that friendship is one of most engaging and undervalued relationships in television, and I DON'T EVEN KNOW ANYMORE I AM JUST ECSTATIC AND FILLED WITH JOY FOR ALL THINGS.
I really need to do love!posts for all the amazing television I've seen recently - Community, The Good Wife, Parks and Recreation, Being Human (UK), Fringe - but every time I think about it I become paralyzed by pure, manic enthusiasm.
In short: If you are not watching Community, do. It will make you so happy you will throw up a little in your mouth.

no subject
no subject
Even when I do spot one of my best friends snogging some stranger in the background halfway through...
Well, I imagine that was surreal. At least they weren't a vampire, yeah?
no subject
Being Human has somehow been even better than usual so far this series, which I would not have thought possible.
It has been scientifically proven that any show containing Russell Tovey grows exponentially in greatness with every minute of screentime he has, until the whole thing implodes. Fact.
no subject
I think they should continue to test this theory, over and over again.
no subject
no subject
And OH YES. I have received your fantastic-amazing masterwork of fantastic-amazing creepiness, and now it hangs in a place of honor over my desk, terrifying innocent passersby. I LOVE IT SO.
no subject
YAY for receiving the drawing! \o/ I was starting to worry that it got lost in the mail, thanks for telling me!! <3 And lol @ terrified passersby -- THAT's the kind of reaction I love to produce! XD I have another idea for one more illustration of your fic, I'll do it as soon as I find the time ^^
no subject
*performs a terribly dignified dance of joy*
no subject
I love Community, too, and this past week's episode was hilarious! I am completely in love with this show. Did you see the one recently, where they made the tremendous tent at school? I want to create my own tent community ... come one, come all - bring your blankets, pillows, and flashlights!
I would also like to shadow Abed for a week, taking notes. I kind of love him, a little.
Community + Parks and Rec + 30 Rock = The Trifecta of Awesome.
no subject
YES. IT WAS AMAZING. I love every single character on that show (even Pierce!) but Troy and Abed have a special place in my heart. Oh, boys.
Community + Parks and Rec + 30 Rock = The Trifecta of Awesome.
WORD.
no subject
no subject
Such an amazing show. It needs a bigger fandom, don't you think?
no subject
no subject
And you should totally watch Community. It makes life better.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Love you forever and ever and ever <3 <3 <3
no subject
I will say no more, for fear of spoiling you for the Greendale delights ahead. ;)
no subject
AND THE PAINTBALL EPISODE. THE PAINTBALL EPISODE WAS ONE OF THE COOLEST EPISODES OF ANY TV SHOW EVER, IT WAS SO COOL I THINK THE UNIVERSE FROZE OVER FOR A MINUTE.
Still at the first few episodes of season 2, but I'm trying to watch only one per day, to delay as much as I can the moment when I'll be deprived and go through withdrawal syndrome like a junkie.
I LOVE YOU A LOT FOR RECCING THIS TO ME, IF YOU WANT TO HAVE KIDS, HAVE SOME OF THEM WITH ME!!!